1.5 bbl system. Best chiller?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1.5 bbl system. Best chiller?

We are opening a 1.5 bbl nano in a few months and I can't decide on a chiller that will work best for that volume. I have been using and immersion chiller for the past two years with my 15 gallon pilot system. That works just fine for that.

I have been debating on getting a large plate chiller, or going with a counter flow chiller, I have heard that plate chillers are very difficult to clean and get clogged easily. I was wondering what the best would be I haven't heard too many downsides to a counterflow chiller. Which is going to work best i.e. time, clean ability exc...

Thank for any help.
    Erik

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I use a counterflow chiller on my nano and recirculate back to the kettle. This is due to the warm groundwater in the summer in my area and my lack of a CLT. It could be faster, but it works.

Comment

We do what pony sauras does only we use two counter flow chillers linked together in series. It chills just as fast as our old plate chiller and way faster than when the plate chiller got clogged. Overall I like the benefit of being able to totally clean the CFCs and never having to worry about clogging when we brew a double ipa. For this system (1.5) I'd never to back to a plate chiller

Comment

Tell me about your counter flow chillers, please. We are setting up a 1bbl pilot system and I am looking at chiller options

Comment

Ok sounds good looks like it's going to be a counter flow chiller!!

Erik Bell
          Owner / Head Brewer
          Old Klaverack Brewery

Comment

heres ours, we rigged up the aeration T system ourselves. we screw a 1/2 npt air stone in the bottom when were ready to oxygenate

Click image for larger version

Name:	cfcs.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	190652

Comment

Originally posted by Oldklavebrew View Post