Degree before brewing school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Degree before brewing school

Is it better to get a college degree before going to brewing school.

type in "brewing education"

read the results.

Comment

It is not required and you can do brewing school well with a college prep science load from high school. But....a degree in anything, and most specific science (biology-chemistry, even engineering) will do you well in brewing. Really depends where you want to go in the industry and there are always exceptions. My degree is in business and it has merit, but if I went back and knew I was going to be a brewer when I grew up, I would do the bio-chemistry thing, more specific....fermentation science. Then again, if I got that degree, I would most likely be making more money in another industry!

Comment

"Then again, if I got that degree, I would most likely be making more money in another industry!"

Thats not really that accurate. As I am about to graduate in May with Bacteriology from UW-Madison which is the best micro program in the country with respects to bacterial genetics and so on and so forth - if I was to go straight into industry the average starting salary would be somewhere around 27-28 thousand with a BS in Bacteriology. However, should you use that degree to get into a large brewery - and i readily boo all of these - miller/bud/ or work for the coldest man on earth (pete coors) you could make a nice living starting in between 35-45thousand. any of the major brewery microbio job listings online will prove my point if you dont care to believe me here.