Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grapefruit/citrus IPA

Hi there,

I am looking at doing an IPA with grapefruit and other citrus peel. If anyone has some experience and input on this type of beer I would appreciate it. So far I'm thinking of using fresh grapefruit and other citrus peel in the hopback combined with some fruity and citrusy American hops. I don't really know how much of the peel would be necessary, lbs/bbl.

Cheers

For what it's worth..

I have limited experience with this, but personally I would try experimenting with infusions before brew day. Start by adding a little of your unwaxed (or organic) citrus zest to a litre of boiled water. Let the water cool, smell and taste. Obviously add more zest in measured increments until you have what tastes right to you. Then obviously multiply the amount of citrus zest you used for the water test by the amount of litres of wort in your copper.

I'd personally add a little more to take into account the obvious differences in water/wort. As we say when making tea in England 'one for the pot'.

Comment

Thanks for the input!

Comment

I have worked with zest in neutral alcohol spirits by making tinctures for some flavor but found the best way is to get fruit concentrate from a reputable source like Perfect Puree. I just did a blood orange Double Red IPA and it was fantastic!The smell and taste far surpasses anything you get from zest. I did add some sweet orange peel 1/2 pound per bbl to the boil with 5 minutes before K.O. to enhance the citrus I got. I added 12 32/oz containers of blood orange concentrate in the fermenter post ferment and dry hoping then filtered it and it was spot on.
        Last edited by hallertau2000; 07-09-2015, 07:47 AM.
        Hop It And Bitterness Will Come

James Costa
        Brewmaster
        Half Moon Bay Brewing Co.
        El Granada,Ca

Comment

Tanks hallertau 2000, if only we had someone like Perfect Puree in the land of Oz...

Comment

Batch size?