PDA

View Full Version : Adding cooling to single wall tank



AndrewF
09-11-2015, 10:25 AM
Originally I had planned to build a cooler room using a coolbot or commercial walk in compressor unit. Because of the building configuration in my facility this is turning out to be very difficult.

Is there any way to retrofit my 15 BBL brite tank with freon lines or an after market glycol jacket?

I know someone who has a HVAC business who said he could do the work but he did not know if there was an aftermarket jacket for the tank or if he ran copper lines around the top 2/3 of the tank above the manway with freon if it would get the tank cool enough to carbonate. My goal is to move to a larger facility in the next 6 months to 1 year at which point I could build a cooler room or switch my tank for a jacketed one.

TiminOz
09-11-2015, 04:45 PM
Just buy a jacketed brite tank and save yourself lots of money, time and hassle.

NatchezBrew
09-12-2015, 07:20 AM
I was in the same boat. My brite had two extra TC ports on top so I dropped in stainless coils. The coils passed through TC threads which screwed into pipe threaded compression fittings. Works great.

AndrewF
09-12-2015, 09:17 AM
I would love to buy a jacketed tank, however I don't want to deal with the additional cost and especially the time issue - I need to start getting my product out the door, TTB and permitting issues have put me 7 months behind on my timeline and I am determined to be selling by the end of September.

NatchezBrew, did you buy a prefabricated coil and then connect inside the tank?

NatchezBrew
09-12-2015, 06:04 PM
No I bought 50' of coiled 1/2" stainless cool from eBay. Ran the ends through the open TC ports then into the threaded TC and compression fittings. It was all real easy. I can send pics if you like

AndrewF
09-13-2015, 02:15 PM
Sent you a Pm