Bourbon Porter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bourbon Porter

The microbrewery here made a Bourbon Porter in the Summer of '06 which was literally the best Porter I have ever drank in my entire beer-drinking life. It had a high alcohol content and the bourbon was not overpowering at all.

But they decided not to make it anymore. They wouldn't tell me why even when I tried to encourage them to take it to a competition, it was sure to win some awards! Alas - their loss. But I want to try to brew that for myself, see if I can do it. (Note: I've no experience YET in homebrewing yet I am working on it.)

Have anyone of you tried such a Porter? Or seen the recipe? (The microbrewery wouldn't share - I have no idea if they used real bourbon or an extract. I think it was real.) I know eventually I'll get around to experimenting it but who knows, maybe one of you guys who knows what it'll take can share before god forbid something happens! :-D

Megan

making bourbon porter

Here is the trick(or at least the best way to do it). Make the best porter in the world. Repeat that 10 more times(if you are using a 5 gallon recipe) Pick up a used Bourbon barrel. There are plenty in the state of Tennessee. This will cost you $50-$200, but if you know the right people, you can get one for free. Make sure it is freshley emptied. Fill it up with those 11 batches of homebrew and wait for 3 months to two years(depending on your patience). You've done it!
    However, you probably have a lot more steps in getting to home barrel aging. Good luck in your endeavor.
    Matt Van Wyk
    Brewmaster
    Oakshire Brewing
    Eugene Oregon

Comment