raspberry wheat beer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• raspberry wheat beer

Hi all, i am new to brewing a fruit beer so any advise is needed. ie~ when to add , frozen or puree , and pasteurization, many thanks

I have made lots of it and I will tell you what I do. I buy aseptic puree as much as possible. One of my favorite places is Oregon Fruit Company. I put all my fruit in my primary fermenter usually when I crash it down to 33 degrees. It picks up the flavor quickly and it will drop to the bottom in 36 hours. Then I rack it off to the brite tanks I have tried putting it in the brite but since I do not filter it collects on the bottom and I get too much fruit in the kegs or cans. Thats it pretty simple
    Mike Eme
    Brewmaster

Comment

Originally posted by beerguy1 View Post
      I have made lots of it and I will tell you what I do. I buy aseptic puree as much as possible. One of my favorite places is Oregon Fruit Company. I put all my fruit in my primary fermenter usually when I crash it down to 33 degrees. It picks up the flavor quickly and it will drop to the bottom in 36 hours. Then I rack it off to the brite tanks I have tried putting it in the brite but since I do not filter it collects on the bottom and I get too much fruit in the kegs or cans. Thats it pretty simple
      Any concerns with fermentation of the fruit?

Comment

Hey Mike , thanks for the reply , thats great info.

Comment

Originally posted by AT-JeffT View Post
          Any concerns with fermentation of the fruit?
          I have never had that happen once the temps drop. I just put 88# in yesterday and my pressure and plato was unchanged this morning
          Mike Eme
          Brewmaster

Comment

And what amount of fruit is used typicaly per brew to extract flavor, i know raspberry has the higher scale of flavor
            thanks

Comment

Originally posted by Hibiscus View Post