Stopping (slowing) Fermentation early

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stopping (slowing) Fermentation early

I'm a Engineer by training who has now found myself running a long standing (20 yr+) brewery in the UK. I have no background in brewing, but have strong background in everything else it takes to run a brewery. I've therefore set out to learn everything I can about about the brewing side.

There's one thing that I am confused about however, and this is our (and many other breweries around us) policy of stopping fermentations by skimming (open tops) and applying cooling before a beer has fermented out (typically somewhere between 1012 and 1010... 3-4 points above where we expect it to finish.. ( however no brewers I have spoken to seem to have done a forced attenuation to check this point)).

Now I understand this policy for cask beers, where we are looking for further fermentation to take place in cask, but this policy doesn't generally change when we are brewing beers for bottle or keg. In fact many times we split a brew 50:50 bottle and cask.

All the reading I have done ( brewing elements yeast for example) talks about fermenting out, and letting the yeast 'clean up' the beer. My feelings are that by continually stopping (slowing) fermentations at 1010 (maybe 1012 if they are fast) we aren't letting the yeast do this and are also leaving a relatively unstable beer in bottle with high levels of fermentables (we aren't bottle conditioning bit do generally sterile filter)