High Gravity Brew

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Gravity Brew

Just started up on a new system, first five brews as a startup! We are brewing on an all electric system which regulates the amount of water going into the MT. I had a problem with the first batch because the flow meter was off and this is my first time on the system, mistakes are bound to happen, right? My latest brew was an imperial IPA, starting gravity 1.082 (19.75 plato), when I again had a problem with the flow meter. I'm not sure exactly how much water went into the mash, but it was a very thin, hot mash. As a result, my starting gravity was 1.067 (16.4 plato). A bit off what I'd like to see. After some feet stomping and calling to the manufacturer, I have decided to try making a higher gravity version of the same beer and blend the two (although this time I will not be trusting the flow meter). My plan is to wait for it to fully attenuate to make a corrective batch. Having never blended two beers and also having limited experience with gravity this high, do you have any suggestions/tips?

We ran into the same problems when we first started using our flow meter too. It seems that ours only works accurately when there is decent flow. What we have been doing is calculating the tank volume and just measuring down the sides of the kettle. Since we've been doing that everything has been pretty spot on. For what its worth were on a 3.5BBL system and its pretty easy to measure.

Comment

Originally posted by Reshafer View Post
      We ran into the same problems when we first started using our flow meter too. It seems that ours only works accurately when there is decent flow. What we have been doing is calculating the tank volume and just measuring down the sides of the kettle. Since we've been doing that everything has been pretty spot on. For what its worth were on a 3.5BBL system and its pretty easy to measure.