Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DE Filtration beer recovery

Hi all -

I'm relatively new to DE filtration, but have mostly gotten it down. There's one aspect of our process that's bothering me, though:

Our Brite Tanks are 1 story *above* the fermentation vessels, from which we filter. I was trained to, at the end of filtration, push the beer left in the filter up to the brite tank with CO2 pressure. This works, but after a short amount of time, my outflow from the filter is mostly CO2 with just a little beer mixed in. This makes sense: it's easier for the CO2 to go through the filter aid than for it to push the beer through. Therefore, I get huge bubbles of CO2 going through the brite tank while I'm recovering the beer from the filter. This causes massive foaming and, eventually, spillage out the top of the brite tank. If I close off the brite tank before this happens, I end up dumping quite a bit of beer which is left in the filter.

How do others handle this recovery? I'm hoping there's some easy way to solve this.

I wonder whether anyone flushes the remaining beer out with water?

Thanks.

Originally posted by Woolsocks
    Hi all -

I wonder whether anyone flushes the remaining beer out with water?

Thanks.
    Yes. Water chasing is common.
    Cheers & I'm out!
    David R. Pierce
    NABC & Bank Street Brewhouse
    POB 343
    New Albany, IN 47151

Comment

Yeah, chasing with water works.

If you're worried about dilution, pull of samples continuously as you chase.

When it starts to taste more watery than beery, you're done.

Pax.

Liam
      Liam McKenna
      www.yellowbellybrewery.com

Comment

Does your filter have a bottom leaf that you can isolate, just for bell recovery? If it does, then close off the valve for the other leaves when you are pushing the bell beer out with CO2. When bubbles appear in the sight glass of the filter, you're done and the bell should be almost empty.
        Linus Hall
        Yazoo Brewing