Marketing & Promotions ideas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marketing & Promotions ideas

I am starting up a production craft brewery and I was trying to get an idea of the success others have had in terms of intial marketing and promotions. What worked well for you all in this stage of your business? What didn't work so well? What did you find that really helped to draw awareness to what you were doing? What are some non-traditional and inexpensive ways to reach your comsumers and create excitement? I have a business degree and have studied quite a bit of marketing and related topics, but it is always nice to learn from someone who has "been there and done that"! I would appreciate any input here.

Thanks-
    Eric
    Last edited by eric@marshallbrewing.com; 06-05-2007, 12:23 PM.

A few ideas

I realize this question is a bit old, but here are a few ideas off the top of my head:
    • Press releases: Careful not to write a release that just announces your opening—it does nothing for an editor needing a story. Give them an actual story (local boy returns to the community, something you're doing differently from other breweries, etc). Also, research your targets carefully.
    • Private parties: Holding a series of pre-opening parties for various groups (press, local business owners, your local homebrew club, etc) can help generate buzz.
    • Community events: Try sponsoring events or participating in them. Get involved with your community and build a reputation as a business that actually looks to serve its community. Hold fundraisers, or raffles, or whatever to help local causes. Genuine participation is key.
    • Blogging: Not for everyone, but consider blogging about your experiences starting up a brewery. Could attract a great readership and build brand awareness.