DE Filtration Nightmares

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DE Filtration Nightmares

This is going out to all of you that had those late night filter runs. I have been using DE filters, in various sizes, for many years but I have never encountered one that has given me as much trouble as the current one I am using. A 4 square meter, horizontal screen, DE filter should have no problem doing 80 bbl/8 hour shift. I am lucky if I can get that done in a staggered split shift. My methods have not changed for the breweries I have worked for in the past so I use them at present and they seem to do me no good. I am at my wits end so advice in this matter would be appreciated.

Filter SOP is as follows:
    Bring in beer from the FV (I am aware of the difference of opinion on whether water or beer for the precoat. Collectively we all can go round and round on this one and it comes down to personal preference, so leave it at that)

Precoat with: 6lbs. hiflow
    6lbs. standard
    Body feed: 4lbs. Standard

Prefilter analysis finds there are over 4 million cells. Our Lagers filter wonderfully and they have less than 2. Tank space is a problem and we move beer at the soonest we can without compromising the beer or our integrity. I am wondering if we were to improve clarity would that be the shot in the arm we need to get filtrations moving again. We do not have a centrifuge, however I willing to bet there is more than 1% solids in the beer prior to filtration. That would cause a big problem. What does a brewer do when the demand is there but the tank space to warrant longer lagering periods is not?

Your description of your precoat:
    Do you first coat with hiflo and then with standard? BTW I would use water every time for this purpose.

Body feed of standard only? Given a good tight second precoat, you could probably body feed with about 70% hiflo and 30 % standard.

Amount of body feed: