Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CIP for tanks that sat for 2 years

Hi Folks,
    This is my first post on here as I'm new to the professional brewing community after deciding to leave a different career of 15 years. ProBrewer has been an excellent resource for me as I make this change. I've reviewed several threads on a variety of topics, including this thread.

We are resurrecting a 7 bbl brewhouse under new ownership and the FVs (4, 7bbl and 3, 14bbl) have been closed up for the past ~ 2 years, one tank was full of spoiled beer and the others with full cones of trub. The old CIP process consisted of the following (quick overview) steps (all tanks were previously opened and sprayed with hot water to loosen/remove solids):
    1. 1% caustic (CirQLate) for 15 min, mixed at 170'F (total of 15 gal in 7bbl tanks)
    2. 1.5% acid (Ultra Niter) for 15 min, mixed at 150'F (total of 15 gal in 7bbl tanks)

Upon inspection of the tanks, they were a lot cleaner than before, but there are remnants of the krausen ring and other biosolids. There appears to be some beer stone as well.

My thoughts were to (a) pre-rinse with a hot water loop, (b) up the concentrations of the caustic and acid by 0.5-1%, and (c) lengthen the loop times. CIP is done with the manway door closed without the gasket, so volume loss from my initial 15 gal starting volume is a concern before the time is up. Perhaps I can affix the gasket and just crack the manway door enough to vent slightly, or crack the PRV, and up my starting vol?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks and Cheers.

In a nutshell, you have simply got to reclean until clean - no magic, it is simply this kit has had the craps dried on it for so long, it just takes a bit more effort to clean.