White Labs WLP 051 - help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• White Labs WLP 051 - help

I have been using this yeast in all my ales for about three months now. I have noticed that it is very sensitve to cool temperatures ( below 70) and is very tempermental with high gravity beers, anything over 16 plato. I have fermented two brews over 16, one at 18 and currently one at 20. the 18 plato beer took twelve days to reach a terminal gravity of 4.7. The 20 plato beer is still fermenting on day five at 11.5 plato, dropping 1 degree per day at this time.

The beer that took twelve days to ferment had no off flavors and was a great beer. But 12 days is rediculous. I pitched about 6.5 gallons of yeast into a 20 bbl batch harvested out of the cone of the previous brew.

I aerated for the entire pump in, which took about 35 minutes.
    Added 25 grams of servomyces to the boil
    plenty of calcium available to the yeast.
    An all malt brew - no sugar additions

has any one used this yeast and had similar results. It is noted for being less attenuative, but the fermentation times are way to long. Even my 13 plato beers are taking 7 days to reach terminal gravity.

any suggestions other than changing yeast strains would be appreciated.

thanks,
    Scott
    Cheers,

Scott Vaccaro
    Captain Lawrence Brewing CO
    Elmsford, NY
    www.CaptainLawrenceBrewing.com

Scotty,
    I have used that strain in the past and 12 days does seem extremely long. My feeling is that you aren't pitching enough yeast for 20bbls. I have a 15bbl system,I recall having to pitch only 5 gallons one time, it took a couple days to even get going and fermentation took over a week as well. Without knowing cell counts ect. I would think you just don't have enough yeast cells to get the job done. Just my two cents.
    Cheers,
    Mike Roy
    Brewmaster
    Franklins Restaurant, Brewery & General Store
    5123 Baltimore Ave
    Hyattsville,MD 20781
    301-927-2740