Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heffe

Howdy,

I am putting together a recipe for a 10HL "standard" hefeweizen... anybody wanna chime in on any tips or suggestions, it's my first time putting this one together by myself:

12ºP = 12.58kg/hl extract

Grain % (not extract)
    Weyermann Pale Wheat 60%
    Malt Franco Belg Pilsner 29%
    Weyermann Melanoidin 10.5%
    Briess Chocolate Malt 0.5%

Thinking abut first wort hopping only with Brewer's Gold to hit 12-13 IBUs...probably about 600 grams@9.2%AA

Going into a conical fermenter (still waiting for our open fermenters!) and using WB-06, pitching 430grams dry directly in the fermenter at 20ºC.

We don't have an agitator in our mash tun (all manual stirring) and we can only do single infusion mashes

I'm thinking about starting really thick for a ferrulic acid rest at 43-45ºC for 15 minutes and then adding a bunch of hot liquor to raise mash temp to 62ºC for a 30 min rest, and then start running off while sparging.

Any tips may earn you a free glass to come and sample when it's ready!!
    Alex Postelnek, Lead Brewer
    Funky Buddha Brewery
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33334
    (561) 945 - 4584
    alex@funkybuddhabrewery.com

The Chocolate malt would put the color darker than a traditional hefeweizen at about 9 SRM. Without it you would be at about 8 SRM due to the Melanoidin.

I'd drop them both and add your Pale Base Malt at 10% of the grist for a nice golden straw of around 4 SRM and an OG around 14 Plato, depending on your efficiency.

but, that's me...It's your beer.....
    Last edited by Scott M; 08-07-2012, 07:04 PM.

Comment

50/50 pils and red wheat IMHO
      Brewmaster, Minocqua Brewing Company
      tbriggs@minocquabrewingcompany.com
      "Your results may vary"

Comment

I'm with Ted, keep it simple.

40-60% wheat, 60-40% Pils,
        12-13 Plato,
        14 IBUS,
        ferment cool (18-19C) for balanced ester/phenol