Lease Question: CPI Rent Increase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lease Question: CPI Rent Increase

Are these pretty standard in commercial leases or should I run away if I see one in the lease agreement?

Cpi

ask the landlord to take out the CPI and replace with a fixed step increase, i.e. from $6/square foot in years 1-5 to $7/square foot in years 6-10. CPI has absolutely nothing to do with the cost of running the property. They should be willing to change it.

I would suggest having an attorney review any lease prior to your signing it. You would be amazed what will be hidden in the fine print.

Comment

yes, read the whole lease carefully, even the "boilerplate" language. I am a Commercial Real Estate Broker, and former brewer. CPI increases will cause your rent to soar. I would never let a client get into a lease like that.
      Also look at the holdover clause, which sets the rent if you stay past the lease period. It could be anywhere from 100 to 200% of your rent.
      Remember everything is negotiable.
      Use the services of a real estate broker, it does not cost anything. They can translate anything for you.
      Mike Lanzarotta
      Commercial Real Estate Broker
      finding space for breweries in Southern California
      former owner and brewer, Crown City Brewery, Pasadena CA

Comment

Cpi

To sign a lease with your increase pegged to the CPI (consumer price index) is to peg your increase to the rate of inflation. Over the past couple of years that has actually been a good deal for tenants because the rate of inflation is so low, and normally there is a minimum increase. Check where they get the CPI numbers from. It can be a bit of a gamble, as inflation fluctuates from year to year.

Comment

Originally posted by Harmony Brewco