Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry hopping unfiltered beers

Hello all-

I am looking to start dry hopping a few upcoming beers and would like to benefit from the collective wisdom here.

At my current brewery, I have no filter and I'm loving it. I am very happy with the clarity level, head retention, and all-around character of my beers. I have lots of experience dry hopping at previous places I've worked but at those breweries we always filtered our beer.

I am looking for tips on how to attack dry hopping on unfiltered beers. I the past, I've always just dumped pellets through a 2" TC fitting on top of the tank, conditioned the beer, and filtered off to a brite tank. With my current set up, I'm pulling the beer off from a racking arm straight to the brite. I've been getting respectable yields and, as mentioned, I'm happy with the quality.

So how are all you non-filterers handling dry hopped beers? Are you successfully just racking off the fermenter? Sock filters? (If so which type and size?) Stainless inline strainers?

Also, how much loss are you observing due to the beer soaked up by the hops?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers- Mike

I Crash my beer to 30 F for 2 days. Crop off the hops and what yeast have left over. Transfer and fine my beer with biofine clear for bsg. My beer is bright in 3 days.

Comment