Steam Kettle heating problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steam Kettle heating problems

Any advice on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

I have no experience with a low pressure gas fired boiler.

I've just taken up a position at a brewery that has purchased a 15BBL custom fabricated steam jacketed kettle. We've been testing boiling times and volumes in the kettle and we just can't get it to boil. Water at the top of the kettle gets up to 98c but the water down the the outlet barely gets to 15c.

The burner fires up for about 2 minutes at a time then cuts out for 30 sec then fires back up. The PRVs on the return to the boiler also seem to be over active.

Originally posted by Simonok View Post
    Any advice on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

I have no experience with a low pressure gas fired boiler.

I've just taken up a position at a brewery that has purchased a 15BBL custom fabricated steam jacketed kettle. We've been testing boiling times and volumes in the kettle and we just can't get it to boil. Water at the top of the kettle gets up to 98c but the water down the the outlet barely gets to 15c.

The burner fires up for about 2 minutes at a time then cuts out for 30 sec then fires back up. The PRVs on the return to the boiler also seem to be over active.
    Hi Simonok,