Experience with ABG CBA program?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Experience with ABG CBA program?

Does anyone have experience with the American Brewer's Guild CBA program? http://www.abgbrew.com/cba.htm
    Overall, what are you thoughts on the program?
    Specifically trying to understand how much it would help in starting up and running a small neighborhood brewpub.

Thanks,
    Maria

I graduated the ABG in 2000.

Maria,

I think it was a good course. It is not the most in-depth training but Steve gives you most of the essentials about brewing. This may not help much with the pub side of the business. A few of the Seattle brewers have graduated from the Guild.

Good brewing,

Tom F.

Comment

Good Start

The course is a great stater into the field, however not for openning a pub. my advice is to go work in a restaurant for a few months then decide wehether or not to open a pub. As a 10 yr veteran of the restaraunt side of things, i have seen many places and worked in a few that did not succeed because the owners did not know what thier were getting them selves into. Restaraunt work is hard and rarely rewarding. Just my advise ...
      Nicholas Campbell

Comment

restaurant experience

Thanks for the advice. Yes, both my husband and I have worked in restaurants, bars, and taverns and so we're pretty familiar with the "pub" side of things. It's the brewery part that we're more interested in getting experience with - we've only done small-scale brewing at home.

Comment

Abg

Maria,
          I'm an ABG grad, and know of two other solid successful brewers who were too. I think the program was great as far as the science and chemistry goes. The engineering part was not very comprehensive, but they may have aquired new teachers for that by now. Although, with that being said , I honestly don't think you can trade anything for "hands on" experience.