Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TTB Requiring a Wall?

Help,

We're planning to open as a 2.5 bbl brewery. The TTB has finally gotten back to us after 5 months of waiting only to claim we need to have a 6' wall or 4' wall with locks on the vessels separating our tasting room from the brewing area.

WTF! First I've heard of this. The strange thing is that there are three brewery's within 50 miles of us that have their brew vessels right next to seating areas. How did they get approved I asked? TTB doesn't know about those.

I asked the TTB to provide documentation specifying this wall. They said they need to get back to me.

I'm looking for advise, a citation of federal regs, or counsel.

Steve

I have no knowledge of that specific requirement, but there are a lot of requirements I do not know. What I do know is the only ppl allowed per the TTB in a brewery are employees, owners, and TTB personnel. There has to be some type of delineation. Also, fighting them will only lead to delays in processing your requests. To be honest it does pass the common sense test, I would not want a drunk customer to have the ability to reach over and open a valve on a tank and have CO2 or beer come shooting out. Finally for every brewery you have seen with tanks next to tables I have seen far more that have walls or windows separating brewing area from customer area, it is a huge safety issue. There are lots of grey areas, it just depends on what kind of day the person reviewing your app is having, as to how they interpret your plan. My best advise is just don't piss them off, they can do far worse than making one or two requests. Trust me!
    Joel Halbleib
    Partner / Zymurgist
    Hive and Barrel Meadery
    6302 Old La Grange Rd
    Crestwood, KY
    www.hiveandbarrel.com

Comment

Interpret

BrewinLou is right, the person reviewing you application makes a big difference in how much trouble you have with the TTB.