Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Micro start up question

Hello all,

I have been homebrewing for over ten years and thinking of opening a microbrewery. I have an area picked out and have been looking at buildings.

Here's the question (just the first of many, I'm sure) :

Do I need to have a building in order to submit my ttb forms, or will I just be wasting time as I would have to go back and re-submit diagrams and such to fit a particular space?

Also, it may be a year or so before I actually open, is it too soon to think about all this?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated,
    Cheers,
    practicalpants

Hello,

Yes, you need the actual physical brewery address for the TTB, and most likely your state LLC as well. Both the TTB and your state will most likely be able to give you approval within three to six months (Knock on wood!). Your build out can easily take as long or longer. I started filing my forms as soon as I signed an intent to lease on my current building (the actual lease started in a few months later).

Cheers
    Ron
    Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales

Comment

that's what I was afraid of...

Thanks for responding Ron. I figured as much, but it never hurts to ask.
      I'm considering buying a building that is twice (or more) the size of what I need and leasing the rest out as commercial space...any thoughts?

cheers,
      practicalpants

Comment

Originally posted by practicalpants
        Thanks for responding Ron. I figured as much, but it never hurts to ask.
        I'm considering buying a building that is twice (or more) the size of what I need and leasing the rest out as commercial space...any thoughts?

cheers,
        practicalpants