Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cider foaming and losing carb

Hi all,

The local pub is now serving my cider in kegs and it’s foaming and losing a lot of carb. (This is my first time working with kegs so any advice will help). They’ve got us on a very simple system: Direct from the keg, which is sitting in a bucket of ice, through a plate chiller, and out the tap. It’s about 8’ from keg to plate chiller, and another 3’ to the tap. But half the glass is foam and when you drink it, it’s just about flat.

So, I wonder what to do? We found that 30 psi seemed to retain the most carb, but it’s hardly acceptable. Does anyone have any ideas about how to improve the pour and retain the carb?

Thanks,

Mike

Originally posted by Mike Lachelt View Post
    Hi all,

The local pub is now serving my cider in kegs and it’s foaming and losing a lot of carb. (This is my first time working with kegs so any advice will help). They’ve got us on a very simple system: Direct from the keg, which is sitting in a bucket of ice, through a plate chiller, and out the tap. It’s about 8’ from keg to plate chiller, and another 3’ to the tap. But half the glass is foam and when you drink it, it’s just about flat.

So, I wonder what to do? We found that 30 psi seemed to retain the most carb, but it’s hardly acceptable. Does anyone have any ideas about how to improve the pour and retain the carb?

Thanks,

Mike