Thread: Milkshake IPA

Milkshake IPA

Hey All,
    Without going into a discussion about the legitimacy of a milkshake IPA as a beer, or IPA even, I was just curious if anyone out therein the probrewer world could provide some tips on working with lactose for making a milkshake ipa. we make a pretty legit hazy, and I am toying around with adding some lactose but I've never worked with lactose before. Thoughts?
    Thanks
    John

Vanilla bean is what's going to make or break it as opposed to lactose.

We brewed a Strawberry IPA once with Lactose and real strawberries.

My notes suggest avoid bittering hops to allow residual sweetness to carry through. Build some body with wheat and mash at a higher temp.

We added a pureed and boiled strawberry mix to 2ndary. No color transfer to beer. Notes suggest add rosehip s for color next time.

You could pick up the subtle sweetness in the finish. It was well received for a 3bbl batch.

We haven't gotten around to brewing it again.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
    JC McDowell
    Bandit Brewing Co.- 3bbl brewery and growing
    Darby, MT- population 700
    OPENED Black Friday 2014!

Thanks guys. I guess the one thing I was really looking at is how much lactose/BBL beer/wort to add. Any idea? I was intending to add it at KO and use whirlpool to ensure mixing.
    Thanks
    John

Quote Originally Posted by OGBrewer76 View Post
    Thanks guys. I guess the one thing I was really looking at is how much lactose/BBL beer/wort to add. Any idea? I was intending to add it at KO and use whirlpool to ensure mixing.
    Thanks
    John
    I used 20# in a 3bbl batch recently. This was for a new batch in our experimental IPA series. This was not in a milkshake IPA, nor a hazy IPA. I would probably suggest quite a bit more if you are going for the milkshake thing

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk