How to maintain yeast health for NEIPA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to maintain yeast health for NEIPA

(As a preface - I am relatively new to brewing, so I apologize if my jargon is a little inaccurate)

I know this topic has been touched on many times here, but I am curious about how to maintain yeast health after brewing a NEIPA.

Currently, the brewery I work for will harvest yeast three days into the ferment before we dry hop. We are using a high floc yeast strain (an east coast IPA strain from Inland Island), but still pull a mostly beer slurry at this stage. We cannot cold crash at 3 days to help the yeast flocculate because the beer needs more time to ferment than that. What we do pull - the count and viability shows the yeast is basically not worth saving.

Is there anything we can add at any point in the brewing process to promote yeast health? I know a lot of people promote "pitch and ditch" - but I think there has to be a better answer than that.

Some research on the topic shows some commercial breweries are harvesting and repitching with success. I suppose I don't know if they are counting their yeast and checking viability, though.
    (https://brewingindustryguide.com/hel...-line-healthy/)

Any suggestions or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hey man!
    I have had success with a soft crash at 55F 1-3 days prior to the dry hop. I do harvest after the active DH and have had zero issues with cell counts and viability. I use multiple strains for various series of IPAs and have had to tweak the soft crash based on the floc habits of the particular strain.

Comment

Hello PMK8MStep,
      A few things to consider:
      • Yeast that floc first will be the most flocculent of the population (may not want to favour this characteristic) or just dead.
      • Harvesting after dry hopping can result in carry-over of hop flavour on the yeast cell membranes, which may be acceptable.