Blood Orange

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blood Orange

I really want to make a blood orange version of my very popular cream ale for this summer. I've been looking into flavoring products. I found this compound swirl thing from Amoretti, and it was great - kind of an iced cream topping or patisserie ingredient, really - but it is all sugar, and I'm both not excited for the refermentation possibilities, or the fact that it is very hard to carbonate stuff with a lot of sugar (we used to do our own rootbeer, before it became a pain in the butt).

I've tried looking into some flavorings, but Amoretti's is very artificial tasting. I'm going to check out Bakto...

Here's the thing: obviously I'd prefer to use the real thing, and I have a lot of experience making beer with real peach or apricot or strawberry or blueberry... but there is something in my hindbrain that shudders at the thought of fermenting oranges. I'm a trained chef, and I know that boiling orange juice to make a sauce ends up with something approaching horse piss in flavor. I cannot imagine that I am going to do much better with fermenting oranges.

I know orange beers exist. How are people making them? Is it flavoring? Are you using real fruit? If so, are you letting it have a secondary fermentation, or are you adding it cold side, and assuming it won't ferment out (or are preventing it with pasteurization?)? Please help.

Originally posted by blonberg View Post
    I really want to make a blood orange version of my very popular cream ale for this summer. I've been looking into flavoring products. I found this compound swirl thing from Amoretti, and it was great - kind of an iced cream topping or patisserie ingredient, really - but it is all sugar, and I'm both not excited for the refermentation possibilities, or the fact that it is very hard to carbonate stuff with a lot of sugar (we used to do our own rootbeer, before it became a pain in the butt).