Help With Draft system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help With Draft system

Hi , we are having some issues with our draft system at a new location. It is 16 tap system divided into two separate trunk lines each of which are glycol cooled. The kegs are tapped in a cold room at 36 degrees, each keg has a fob , but we have a manifold co2 gas system instead of separate gas regulators for each tap. The trunk lines exits the cold room through the ceiling rising about 8 feet then parallels the ceiling for about 40 feet then transitions to a 90 degree fall for 14 feet to the the taps. It is a 3/8 inch line from the trunk to the tap completely with not restrictions. We use Co2 to push our beer and the regulator is set from 14 to 16 psi. We are getting allot of foaming and gurgling from the taps when we try to poor a beer. I expected some foaming but not like this. I designed and installed the system and I am not an engineer so I am asking for help. How do I reduce the foaming.

I think what is happening is that while the tap is closed the beer pressure in the line is balanced, however when a tap is opened the beer in the part of the line going down to the tap flows at a faster rate than the beer leaving the keg. This causes co2 to nucleate out of solution and a negative pressure which causes more co2 to come out of solution. I feel that installing a smaller diameter restriction line from the tap to the trunk line would solve this issue. I have tried increasing the pressure on the co2 pushing the beer which has not helped much, and makes the beer flow at a higher velocity creating other challenges. Am I right and if so how long should the restriction line be to equalize head pressure and balance the line. This issue is happening on both trunk lines any help would be great thanks.