How to Nitro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Nitro

I'm looking at making our first batches of Nitro beers. What do I need to do to a 15BBL Serving tank and the according tap faucet (besides the obvious nitrogen tap) to serve such a beer?

Do I need to carb the beer low (1.2 volumes or so) and then push it with beer gas (CO2/Nitro blend)? Do I need to force Nitrogen or beer gas in my carb stone?

Or is this something that is better handled by serving through kegs?

Thanks for any help! I'm new to brewing on a professional scale

First off... what is the pressure rating on your serving vessel?
    Jeff Byrne

Comment

My serving tanks are rated for 15psi.

Comment

I would plan on doing it in kegs, because you will probably want to use 25-30 PSI to get the Nitrogen in solution. I don't really have any experience doing it that way so hopefully someone else will chime in here with some details.

But yes, you do want a little CO2 (most people seem to say anyway). I just use my 70/30 (70%N / 30%CO2) line to do it from the stone @ 25-30 PSI. You may be able to do it in your BBT, but I'm not going to reccomend it.

- again no experience with this but - From what i have been told to do it in kegs just run like 30PSI Nitrogen down through the spear and let it sit cold with the gas on it for a few days... I assume this is after you have a bit of CO2 in it already.
        Jeff Byrne

Comment

I've done this in kegs by pressurizing them to about 30 psi with a 70 /30 ratio of N2 to C02. It works pretty well, but make sure you really tighten the hose clamps. One flew off and I covered my whole garage in Stout.
          Chris Enegren
          www.enegrenbrewing.com

Comment

Carb it normally to about 1.8 vols. Then push it at about 35 psi with a 70 N/ 30 CO2 mix through a stout faucet. Take apart the stout faucet every night and don't let your staff lose the little perforated disk every night either!
            Linus Hall
            Yazoo Brewing