Heat Exchanger - Single vs Multipass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heat Exchanger - Single vs Multipass

Does anyone have an opinion on single vs multipass heat exchanger? I was about to buy a multipass and the company told me it would agitate the wort too much. So I was wondering what everyone else is using? (I am putting in a 10bbl system).

Thanks!

i would get a multistage heat exchanger. the begining with city water. second stage with glycol

Comment

i would get a multistage heat exchanger. the begining with city water. second stage with glycol.

Comment

Originally posted by brewmaster 2011
        i would get a multistage heat exchanger. the begining with city water. second stage with glycol.
        Don't know if that's the same thing but I am a rookie. The manufacturer asked me if I wanted single pass, which uses more water and a higher GPM or a multipass which uses less of both. The single pass also has in and out on the front of the frame, where as the multipass had in on one side and out on the back.

Comment

link some photos of the heat exhanger. i will tell you if it is a single stage of double stage.

Comment

two different things...

two stage refers to passing through one section with one coolant and a second section with different coolant. it is essentially two HX's in series. usually the first has city water to cool and the second stage uses glycol to cool.

multi-pass is different. it refers to a HX that is set up internally differently. There is only one coolant flow so it is a single "stage" system. its tricky to explain but basically there are a couple of diverter plates inside that force the flow to go through the HX in "sections". think of it as running three standard hx's in series with the outflow of one being the inflow to the next. i used to have a picture of it drawn out but cant find it now. google search may yield something for you..