Dry hopping and Yeast Harvesting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry hopping and Yeast Harvesting

I'm a newbie on the verge of brewing my first 15 BBL batch with a plan for 2 weeks of dry hopping.

Here's the deal: I want to dry hop at fermentation temperature and without yeast around. The delimma is I want to crash cool before harvesting the yeast, but I don't want to dry hop cold. Would you please share with me what works best? I've seen most here agree with harvest after cooling and most agree to dry hop at fermentation temp..so how to achieve both?

Should I:
    -ferment, harvest, dry hop and then cool (2 weeks with yeast under beer) or
    -ferment, crash cool, harvest and then dry hop cold or
    -some combination I'm overlooking?

Your help is very much appreciated. I've learned so much from this site in silence and I'm eager to gain some expereince to try to give back in the future
    -Kevin

dry hopping and yeast harvesting

I've never dry hopped at ferm temp...I've always dry hopped after cooling, (Ie in cellar tank or in cask)...with good results....I usually harvest yeast after crash cooling (couple of days or so)....works for me

Tariq
    Tariq Khan (Brewer/Distiller)

Yaletown Brewing and Distilling Co.
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Canada

Comment

I know this might not be the answer you're looking for...

We dry hop at the end of fermentation at temperature for 2-3 days. We then cool the beer, and pull off all yeast/hops prior to transfer. We do not harvest yeast whatsoever from a dry-hopped beer. We do sometimes dry hop in conditioning (at 38F), however the flavor/aroma impact from dry hopping at fermentation temp is much greater. The only two ways I can see to achieve your goals are to warm the beer back up (which I advise not to), or wait for yeast to settle out warm, then harvest, then dry hop. We alternate brewing beers that are going to get dry-hopped, so we always have yeast available from another batch. Hope that helps.