Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Instruments & Sensors for ABV Measurement?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Instruments & Sensors for ABV Measurement?

Hi all, I’m a MBA student at Pepperdine University and I’m working on a project looking into potential applications for a new biosensor. This sensor is able to detect specific molecules (like ethanol) in liquids and is instant, precise, reusable and could potentially operate as a continuous monitoring device. We think there may be some potential applications in the brewing industry (possibly related to measuring alcohol content, for example).

We obviously have lots of questions but I’ll post two here:

What instruments or sensors do you typically use to measure alcohol content (i.e., hydrometers, NIR sensors, something else)?

Who are the large or leading manufacturers of those instruments? (I’ve been told Anton Paar is a big player in the industry, but not sure who else might be…part of our assignment is to look into equipment manufacturers to identify who may be interested in licensing this technology…)

Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated – thanks!

Small brewers often use a distillation method to eliminate sugars, followed by hydrometer measurement.
    Phillip Kelm--Palau Brewing Company Manager--

Comment

Anton-Parr DMA 35N. Yes the unit is expensive but I have seen them on eBay for around $600. Someone posted a new unit here some months back for $1200.00 Will your unit be cheaper, faster, more accurate?

edited to add:
      3 on eBay now for $299.00 but it now
      Last edited by beertje46; 06-17-2009, 07:00 PM.
      Cheers & I'm out!
      David R. Pierce
      NABC & Bank Street Brewhouse
      POB 343
      New Albany, IN 47151

Comment

Try the usual European culprits